the media and entertainment union
a sector of Prospect

17 May 2010

BECTU members have elected their first woman president. Christine Bond was confirmed as union president for the 2010-2012 term at BECTU's annual conference on Saturday 15 May.

 Christine BondChristine Bond, the union's first woman president. Pic: Mark Dimmock

The declaration of the results of the president's and NEC elections concluded the day long event.

Christine has been a union activist for the past 18 years and has experience at branch, committee and NEC levels; her CV includes freelance stills photography in film and tv. 

Welcoming the ballot result Christine said:

"I am surprised and happy; it's a real privilege to be elected as president. Looking at the work which Tony Lennon has done, how will I follow him? Rest assured that I will work to be best of my abilities.

 "I also thank my competitiors [Peter Cox and John Handley]; democracy is a good thing.

Reflecting on the challenges for the union she commented:

"Tough times are not necessarily bad times; in tough times we always work better if we work together. Let's get out there and keep going."

Tony Lennon, union president for the past 18 years, did not stand in this year's election following his retirement from the BBC; Tony's contribution to the union's development, to its industrial campaigns and his expert stewardship of annual conference were widely praised at the delegate meeting held in Bournemouth.

The incoming NEC, with its new president at the helm, holds its first meeting on Sunday 6 June 2010. The following divisional representatives will serve on the NEC for 2010-2012:

Arts and Entertainment:

Chris Tweddell, Jo Livesey, Douglas McGill


Alistair Hendrie, Jane Perry, Winston Phillips, Mark Rivers

Independent Broadcasting:

Robert Scott

London Production:

Benetta Adamson, Tunji Akinsehinwa, Peter Cox, Nick Ray

Regional Production:

John Handley, Ann Jones.

Benetta Adamson (Writers Producers Directors), Ann Jones (North Wales Freelance), Chris Tweddell (Cineworld) and Nick Ray (Grips) join BECTU's NEC for the first time. 

Voting in the elections for president and the new NEC got underway in March; voting closed on 30 April with the results embargoed until the close of annual conference.